List of t20I World Cup Winners

1. India(2007)


MS Dhoni and team almost achieved the impossible in the inaugural t20I World Cup. India was successful in the group stage and later they faced experienced Australia in the semi finals. Indian young pacers troubled Australian experienced batters.In their final at Johannesburg, India met their rivalries Pakistan. Batting first India rised a defendable score of 158 for Pakistan. At one time, India was seen in a safe state. But Misbah Ul Haq, challenged Indian bowlers strongly.But in the end he was caught by Sree Santh, which favored the match for India by 5 runs.

2. Pakistan(2009)


Pakistan was seen well prepared for the 2009 t20I World Cup. The 2007 runners up had a predefined tactics in the tournament. After their loss against England in the opener Pakistan qualified for the super 8's with a win over Ireland. In the Super 8, Pakistan won 2 out of 3 matches made the final four. Pakistan faced South Africa in the Semi Finals and win the match by 7 runs. In the finals, they met their neighbors  Sri Lanka. In a low scoring game, Pakistan secured the target of 139 with 8 wickets and 10 balls to spare.

3. England(2010)


England was the 2010 world t20I Champions. In the group stage, England was winless and with the aid of Net Run rate, they secured the Super 8 stage. In the Super 8's England started by defeating the defending champions, Pakistan. Later secured back to back success against South Africa and New Zealand. They secured semi final place as table toppers. In the semi final against Sri Lanka, England easily chased 128 runs target with 24 balls and 7 wickets remaining. In the finals also, England dominated over Australia and won the match by 7 wickets.

4. West Indies(2012)

West Indies(2012)

 West Indies team won the 2012 t20I World Cup. They had a bitter group stage with no wins, but managed to get super 8 spot with the courtesy of Net Run Rate. In the Super 8's they won 2 out of 3 matches and won semifinal's spot. In the semi final's Australia were not able to chase the huge target of 206. In the finals, West Indies met the hosts Sri Lanka and secured their maiden victory with 36 runs. Samuels and Narine were impressive with bat and ball.

5. Sri Lanka(2014)

 Sri Lanka(2014)

The 2012 runners up Sri Lanka were the 2014 champions. They started the group stage with 3 wins out of 4 matches and qualified for the semi finals as table toppers. In the semi finals Sri Lanka met West Indies, who thrashed their maiden title at home. In the rain effected match, Sri Lanka secured the match by 27 runs. India was their opponents in the finals. Sri Lanka were able to limit India's target by 131 runs and chased the target easily with 6 wickets in hand.

6. West Indies(2016)

West Indies(2016)

West Indies once again secured the t20I World Cup in 2016 edition. They made the semi final entry as table toppers. They won 3 matches out of 4 and faced India in the semifinals. Batting first Indian team set up a mammoth total of 193 for West Indies. On chasing the total, with the aid of Lendi Simmons's unbeaten 82, West Indies secured their 2nd title with 7 wickets. WI met England in the finals.WI secured the target of 166 with 6 wickets and won the match by 4 wickets.


You may also like

Facebook Conversations