Man of the Series Award winners in World Cup

1. Martin Crowe(1992)

Martin Crowe(1992)

The Man of the Tournament Award was started in the 1992 World Cup. New Zealand batsman Martin Crowe was the winner of the first title. He scored 456 runs in the entire tournament with the courtesy of 3 fifties and a ton knock. He started the tournament with an 100 against Australia. Later he smashed 74, 81 against Zimbabwe and Windies. They were easily qualified for the semi finals, and faced Pakistan there. Crowe's 83 ball 91 runs was not enough to secure the defendable target.

2. Sanath Jayasurya(1996)

Sanath Jayasurya(1996)

Sri Lankan opener Sanath Jayasurya was the 1996 World Cup's best performer. His aggressive batting was crucial in Sri Lanka's title reign. Out of 6 matches, he scored 221 runs at a strike rate of 132. Although he didn't shined in the first match against Zimbabwe, came back strongly against India. He scored 79 runs from 76 balls. In his next two matches he scored 44 and 82 against Kenya and England. In the semi finals against India, Jayasurya took 3 important wickets and led the team to finals. He had total 7 wickets in his basket in the end of the tournament.

3. Lance Klusener(1999)

Lance Klusener(1999)

South African all rounder Lance Klusener awarded with Man of the Tournament title in the 1999 World Cup. He smashed 281 runs and took 17 wickets in the tournament. In his first match against India, Klusener took 3 wickets and scored 12 runs. He continued his form in his upcoming matches. Scored 52* and 3/21 against Sri Lanka,1/16 against England, 5/21 and 52* against Kenya and Zimbabwe. He had an amazing batting average of 140.5 and a strike rate of 122. In the semi final against Australia, Klusener smashed a quick 31 from 16 balls. But unlucky South African team failed to win the match and resulted in a tie.

4. Sachin Tendulkar(2003)

Sachin Tendulkar(2003)

Sachin tendulkar lost his Man of the Series torunament award in 1996 with Jayasurya, due to lesser strike rate. But in the 2003 world cup tournament he scored 673 runs and took 2 wickets. His role was crucial in taking the India to finals. He started the tournament with a 52 against Netherlands and later he scored 36 vs Australia. But that was just a begining of the run flow, he scored 81,152,50,97,98 in his upcoming matches. He had a ton and 6 fifties in 11 innings's. The 2 wicket was just number for the award.

5. Glenn Mcgrath(2007)

Glenn Mcgrath(2007)

Australian pacer Glenn McGrath was brilliant with the bowling in 2007 World Cup. He had an important role in taking the Australian team to victory. He took 26 wickets in the entire torunament. His 7/15 was the best bowling performance in the World Cups.

6. Yuvraj Singh(2011)

Yuvraj Singh(2011)

In the 2011 World Cup, Yuvraj Singh scored 362 runs and took 15 wickets in the tournament. He was trump card for title winning Dhoni squad. In his first match in the tournament against England, he scored a half century and maintained it against Netherlands. Later he took 5 wickets against Ireland with a half century. In the match against West Indies he scored a match winning ton and took 2 wickets.In the quarter finals he smashed a fifty and took 2 wickets against Australia. In the semi finals, he took important wickets of Asad Shafiq and Younis Khan. In his final clash against Sri Lanka, he took 2 wickets and joined Dhoni to secure the title.

7. Mitchell Starc(2015)

Mitchell Starc(2015)

Starc took 22 wickets in the 2015 World Cup. His wicket hunt started against England with a 2 wickets. He was brilliant against New Zealand in the group stage, took 6 important wickets. Later he performed well in the important games. 4 wicket performance against Scotland was one of the notable achievement. In the final against New Zealand, he took one important wicket of in form batsmen, Brendon McCullum.   


You may also like

Facebook Conversations