Man of the Match Award winners in World Cup Finals

1. Clive Lloyd(1975)

Clive Lloyd(1975)

In the inaugural cricket world cup final's West Indies captain and star batsmen Clive Lloyd won Man of the Match award against Australia. Batting first West Indies set up a mammoth target of 292 for Ian Chappell led Australian team. Lloyd's 102 from 85 balls was crucial in the target. On reply, Australia made a good chasing performance in the final. Chapell  brothers set up a good partnership for the team. But Ian Chappell caught in a run out trap of Clive Lloyd, which was a key moment in the chase. Finally, Windies lift the cup with a 17 runs win. Clive Lloyd's batting and fielding performance made him the Man of the Match.

2. Viv Richards(1979)

Viv Richards(1979)

 West Indies once again were victorious in the 1979 world cup. In their match against England, West Indies was sent to bat first. The top order of West Indies was collapsed and lost 4 wickets at 99 runs. But Viv Richards teamed up with Collin King and built a 139 runs partnership. After King's wicket, he joined with tail enders and scored a unbeaten 138 runs and helped Windies to set up a target of 287 for England. England, on reply chased well, but wickets in the quick sessions awarded them a 96 runs huge loss. Richards was impressive with the ball also, conceded only 35 runs in his 10 overs.

3. Mohinder Amarnath(1983)

Mohinder Amarnath(1983)

Mohinder Amarnath thrashed the hopes of hat trick win in the cricket world cup of West Indies. In the 1983 world cup, batting first team India built a lower 184 target for West Indies. Amarnath contributed 26 from his bat. On reply, West Indies had a near fashioned batting. But in the 6th wicket Jeff Dujon and Malcolm Marshall seen problem for India. But Amarnath  took these two batters and favored the match for India, by taking the wicket of Michael Holding. India won the match by 43 runs.

4. David Boon(1987)

David Boon(1987)

David Boon had a prominent role in Australia's maiden world cup win. In the 1987 world cup finals Australia faced England in the Finals. Batting first, Australia had a good start with Boon scoring 75 runs. He was the only player to pass 50 runs in the Australian team and displayed target of 254 for England. On reply, England was seen brilliant in the chase. But they failed to reach the target, lost by 7 runs. David Boon's impressive batting and an important run out of John Emburey awarded him the Man of the Match title.

5. Wasim Akram(1992)

Wasim Akram(1992)

Pakistan pacer, Wasim Akram was the 1992 world cup final Man of the Match award winner. Batting first, Pakistan set a target of 250 for England. Wasim Akram's quick 33 from 19 balls was helped team set up the target. Although England had a bad start, Allan Lamb and Neil Fairbrother put a 72 runs partnership in the 5 wicket. But Wasim Akram took Lamb and Lewis which was a crucial moment in the match. With the courtesy of 3/49 bowling performance and 33 runs knock, Akram was awarded with Man of the Match.

6. Aravinda de Silva(1996)

Aravinda de Silva(1996)

Sri Lankan batsmen Aravinda de Silva was the hero of 1996 world cup final against Australia. Toss won Sri Lanka elected to bowl first. Australian top order dominated over Sri Lankan bowlers. But De Silva took the important wickets of Mark Taylor and Ricky Ponting slowed down the run flow. De Silva later took the wicket of Ian Healy and made a bowling performance of 3/42. On chasing the target of 242, Sri Lankan openers failed to give a good start. But De Silva justified his Man of the Match by utilizing his opportunity and blasted 107 runs from 124 balls. 

7. Shane Warne(1999)

Shane Warne(1999)

 With an amazing bowling performance of 4/33, Shane Warne won the Man of the Match award in 1999 world cup final. In the match between Australia and Pakistan, Warne took the important wickets of Ijaz Ahmed, Moin Khan, Wasim Akram and Shahid Afridi, limited Pakistan's target to 133 runs. The target was easily chased by Australia with 8 wickets remaining. Adam Gilchrist was impressive with the bat and scored 54 runs. He is the only spinner that awarded with Man of the Match in the finals.

8. Ricky Ponting(2003)

Ricky Ponting(2003)

In the 2003 World Cup, captain Ricky Ponting himself led to the team to victory with his brilliant 140 knock. Batting first, Australian team had a great opening start. The followers increased the run flow, With the support of captain's knock, Australia set up a mammoth total for India. On reply, Indian in form batters failed to chase the target.India lost all their wickets in the 38 over with 234 runs in the board. Ponting's ton helped him to secure the Man of the Match title.

9. Adam Gilchrist(2007)

Adam Gilchrist(2007)

In the 2007 World Cup finals, Adam Gilchrist was awarded with Man of the Match title. His brilliant 149 knock against Sri Lanka helped team to set up a 282 runs target in the rain effected match. He was also impressive behind the stumps, took 2 catches and made a stumping of Lasith Malinga. He had a crucial role in securing the hat trick World Cup title for Australia.        

10. MS Dhoni(2011)

MS Dhoni(2011)

MS Dhoni's unbeaten 91 runs from 79 balls in the 2011 World Cup finals against Sri Lanka made him the Player of the final. Batting first, Sri Lanka added 275 runs target for the hosts. On reply, India lost their openers early in the match. Although Gambhir made a good knock in the match, that was not sufficient to chase the target. MS Dhoni's risky batting promotion helped the team to chase the target with 10 balls remaining. He managed to get the winning runs with a six.

11. James Faulkner(2015)

James Faulkner(2015)

James Faulkner won Player of the Match Award in the 2015 World Cup Finals against New Zealand. His role was important in limiting the New Zealand score to 183. He took 3 important wickets of Taylor, Elliot and Anderson conceding only 36 runs.    


You may also like

Facebook Conversations