IPL Most Valuable Player Award Winners

1. Shane Watson(2008)

Shane Watson(2008)

Shane Watson was the winner of Most Valuable Player award in 2008. He was part of title winning Rajasthan Royals in the inaugural IPL season. He was brilliant with bat and ball, throughout the season. In that edition, out of 15 matches played, he scored 472 runs at an average of 47.20. He had an amazing strike rate of 151.76 in the series. He blasted 4 fifties and best being 63*. 47 fours and 19 sixes were also part of his innings. He also took 17 wickets at an economy of 7.07. His performance was crucial for Rajasthan's title win.

2. Adam Gilchrist(2009)

Adam Gilchrist(2009)

Deccan Charger former captain Adam Gilchrist was the 2009- Most Valuable Player of the Year award winner. From 16 matches he scored 495 runs in which the best being 85 runs. He had an average of 30.93 and strike rate of 152.30. He blasted 3 fifties along with 54 fours in the season. He was also awarded with the Maximum Sixes Award for his 29 maximums. He was also impressive behind the stumps. He caught 10 catches and made 8 stumping's.

3. Sachin Tendulkar(2010)

Sachin Tendulkar(2010)

Sachin Tendulkar was impressive in the 3rd IPL season. He was the winner of Most Valuable Player award in the season. Out of 15 matches he scored 618 runs and he was awarded with orange cap that year. He had an average of 47.53 in the season and a decent strike rate of 132.61.  He smashed 5 fifties, and his highest score in the season was 89*.  He blasted 86 fours and 3 sixes in the season. He also caught 3 catches in the season.

4. Chris Gayle(2011)

Chris Gayle(2011)

Chris Gayle, one of the greatest IPL player become the Most Valuable Player of the 4th season.  Along with this he got two more awards in the season. 608 runs from 12 matches made him the orange cap holder. 44 Sixes helped him to get the Maximum Sixes Award. He had an amazing strike rate of 183.13 and had an average of 67.55. He thrashed 2 tons and 3 fifties in the series, best being 107. He took 8 wickets and 2 catches in the season. These numbers had a crucial role on RCB's final entry. But finished as runners up in the season.

5. Sunil Narine(2012)

Sunil Narine(2012)

Sunil Narine was the Most Valuable Player for the 5th season. He was the highest wicket taker for Kolkata Knight Riders in their title winning season. He was the trump card in Kolkata's bowling order. Out of 15 matches, he took 24 wickets at an economy of 5.47. 5/19 was his best performance in the season. He scored 9 runs in limited 1 innings in the season, also he caught a catch for Kolkata. This amazing performance in his debut IPL season made him one of the most valuable spinner in IPL.

6. Shane Watson(2013)

Shane Watson(2013)

Shane Watson became the only player to get two Most Valuable Player awards. This time also, it was for Rajasthan Royals.His contributions helped team to reach playoffs. Out of 16 matches he scored 543 runs in which the best score was 101. He had an average of 38.78 with a decent strike rate of 142.89. He smashed 52 fours and 22 sixes for Rajasthan in the season. He caught 6 catches in the season. He was also impressive with ball. He took 16 wickets at an economy of 7.15.

7. Glenn Maxxwell(2014)

Glenn Maxxwell(2014)

Glenn Maxxwell became The Most Valuable Player for Punjab in their 7th season. He was consistent in the season, helped the team to secure final spot. In his 16 matches he scored 552 runs at an average of 34.50. He smashed 36 sixes in the season and awarded with Maximum Sixes. He had a strike rate of 187.75. He was impressive in the fielding also. He caught 9 catches in the season. Along with these, he also had a wicket in the season.

8. Andre Russell(2015)

Andre Russell(2015)

Kolkata Knight Riders all rounder won the award in 8th edition of IPL. Although the team weren't able to make the final 4, he was impressive in the season. Out of 13 matches played, he scored 326 and scored his IPL best score of 66. He had an average of 36.22 and marvelous strike rate of 192.89. He was the strength of Kolkata middle order. His bowling skills were also impressive in the season.  He took 14 wickets in the season. 7.96 was his economy in the season.

9. Virat Kohli(2016)

Virat Kohli(2016)

Virat Kohli dominated in most of the IPL batting records in 2016. Out of 16 matches played he scored 973 runs at an average of 81.08. He smashed 4 hundreds and 7 fifties. 113 was his best score in the season. He was awarded with orange cap and maximum sixes award for his 38 maximums. Every innings of him had a crucial role for RCB's final entry. He had a strike rate of 152.03 in the season, and he caught 6 catches for RCB.

10. David Warner(2017)

David Warner(2017)

David Warner was the Most Valuable Player in the 10th IPL season. Former Sun Risers Captain had an important role in guiding the team to the final four. Out of 14 matches he produced 641 runs and won the orange cap award. He had an average of 58.27, with a highest score of 128. His strike rate in the season was 141.81. He smashed 63 fours and 26 sixes. He also took 10 catches in the season.


You may also like

Facebook Conversations