IPL Emerging Player of the Year Award Winners from 2008-2018

1. Shreevats Goswami(2008)

Shreevats Goswami(2008)

Royal Challengers Bangalore player Shreevats Goswami was awarded with the emerging player of the year award in the first IPL season. The wicket keeper batsmen was impressive with bat and behind the stumps. Out of limited 4 matches he scored 82 runs at an average of 27.33. He made an highest score of 52 and had a strike rate of 96.47. There was 9 fours and a six in the season for him. Although the Bangalore made poor performance in the series, Goswami had something to cherish. 

2. Rohit Sharma(2009)

Rohit Sharma(2009)

Former Deccan Chargers middle order batsmen Rohit Sharma was the winner in the 2nd season. His contributions helped the team to win the title of that year. Out of 16 innings's he scored 362 runs at an average of 27.84 and had a strike of 114.92. He blasted 22 fours and 18 sixes in the innings. He was also impressive with the ball. He got 11 wickets in the season.

3. Saurabh Tiwary(2010)

Saurabh Tiwary(2010)

Mumbai youngster Saurab Tiwary  became the Emerging player of the 3rd IPL season. He scored 419 runs for Mumbai Indians from 16 matches. He blasted 18 sixes and had an average of 29.82. His achievement included 3 half centuries and 29 fours. 135.59 was his strike rate in the season. This achievement helped him to play for the National team, and was part of India in the Asia Cup.

4. Iqbal Abdulla(2011)

Iqbal Abdulla(2011)

Former Kolkata Knight Riders spinner Iqbal Abdulla won the Emerging Player award in 2011. He was impressive with the ball. He is the first bowler to win this award. Out of 15 matches, he took 16 wickets and had an amazing economy 6.10. 24/3 was his best performance in the series. In the batting side, he scored 15 runs from 2 innings's.

5. Mandeep Singh(2012)

Mandeep Singh(2012)

Mandeep Singh's impressive batting in the 5th season helped him to secure the  emerging player of the year award. Out of 16 matches he scored 432 runs at a best score of 75. He had an average of 27.00 and a strike rate of 126.31 in the season. His cart had 2 fifties , 52 fours and 7 sixes in the season. Although Punjab didn't performed well in the season, his performance was well appreciated by team management

6. Sanju Samson(2013)

Sanju Samson(2013)

Wicket keeping batsmen, Sanju Samson was the 6th season award winner. In his debut IPL season he was impressive in the batting and behind the stumps. Out of 11 matches played, he scored 220 runs with 63 being the high score. He had an average of 25.75 and a strike rate of 115.73. He smashed 19 fours and 5 maximum's in the season. He also caught 13 players behind the stumps.

7. Axar Patel(2014)

Axar Patel(2014)

Former Gujarat Ranji player was the 7 th season award winner. He represented Kings XI Punjab in that season. He was consistent with ball and contributed some runs in his batting section also. Out of  17 matches he took 17 wickets, and 24/3 was his best performance in the season. He had an economy of 6.13, which is lowest in the team. He scored 62 runs in the season and best being 42*. Also had a strike rate of 103.33. 

8. Shreyas Iyer(2015)

Shreyas Iyer(2015)

Shreyas Iyer won the emerging player of the year award in his debut season. The Delhi Daredevils player had an impressive record in the season. Out of  14 matches he scored 439 at a decent average of 33.76. 83 was his top score in the season. He had a strike rate of128.36 in the season. He scored 4 fifties and 41 fours. He smashed 21 sixes in the whole season. He was an one-man army for Delhi Daredevils in the year.


9. Mustafizur Rahman(2016)

Mustafizur Rahman(2016)

Mustafizur Rahman became the first and only overseas player to secure the emerging player of the year award. The Bangladesh left arm pacer played for Sun Risers in that season. Out of 16 matches he picked 17 wickets.16/3 was his best performance in the season. He had an economy of 6.90 in the season. 24.76 was his average.

10. Basil Thampi(2017)

Basil Thampi(2017)

Basil Thampi was the emerging player last year. The Kerala team pacer was part of Gujarat Lions in the 10th IPL edition. Out of 12 IPL matches he took 11 wickets. The economy of 9.49 shows he was expensive in the season. His best bowling performance in the season was 29/3. He also scored 28 runs from 5 innings's for Gujarath and best being 13*.

11. Rishabh Pant(2018)

Rishabh Pant(2018)

Delhi's 20-year old wicket keeping batsmen, Rishabh Pant was awarded with a well deserved emerging player of the year. He was exceptional in the Delhi's top order. After the completion of League stage matches, this youngster had orange cap, but Kane Williamson retained it with the advantage of 3 more matches.  In his 14 matches, Pant scored 684 runs. Along with batting performance, he was a decent performer behind the stumps. Pant made 20 dismissals behind the stumps with 15 catches and 5 stumping.


You may also like

Facebook Conversations