List of IPL Winners

1. Rajasthan Royals(2008)

Rajasthan Royals(2008)

Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural IPL title in 2008. The team was considered as one of the weakest IPL team's in the season, but was dominated in the league stage and defeated Delhi Daredevils in the semifinals. They met MS Dhoni led Chennai Super Kings in the final. Warne's Rajasthan Royal's fielded first. Yusuf Pathan's impressive bowling limited Chennai's score to 163. Batting second Rajasthan Royals in-form batsmen's failed at the top order. Rajasthan was seen sinking in the match. But that was Yusuf Pathan's day who took 3 wickets in the bowling side. His 56 from 39 balls helped Rajasthan to win the match in last ball. Rajasthan's victory was for 3 wickets.

2. Deccan Chargers(2009)

Deccan Chargers(2009)

After their poor performance in the first season, Deccan Chargers made some changes in the team line up. Adam Gilchrist was appointed as the new captain. With the courtesy of RP Singh and Gilchrist's performance, Deccan Chargers reached the semi finals, and then to the finals. In the final, they faced Royal Challengers Bangalore, who were known for their amazing batsmen's in the season. In a nail biting thriller, Deccan Chargers favored the match by runs. Batting first, Deccan Chargers build a average score of 143 with the courtesy of 53 from Hershell Gibbs. On reply, with the courtesy of RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Harmeet Singh's bowling performance Deccan Chargers won the match.

3. Chennai Super Kings(2010):

Chennai Super Kings(2010):

Chennai was seen determined to win the title in 3rd edition of IPL. After entering playoff's Chennai easily made the final entry. They met the mighty Mumbai Indians in the finals. But Chennai had some new tactics in the finals. With the courtesy of Suresh Raina's 57 Chennai made a defend-able target of 169. On reply, Mumbai Indians top order were failed contribute to the score card. Economical overs from spinners Ashwin and Muralidharan were crucial in Chennai's victory. Jakati took two imporatant wickets of Sachin and Sourabh Tiwary in the match. Suresh Raina's batting performance and 1 wicket made him the man of the match.

4. Chennai Super Kings(2011)

Chennai Super Kings(2011)

Chennai once again were victorious in the 4th edition of the IPL. They met Royal Challengers Bangalore in the finals. Bangalore was impressive throughout the series and were match favorites. But, batting first Chennai lifted a huge target of 206 for Bangalore. Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey's 159 runs opening partnership was the base of this mammoth target. Vijay scored 95 and Hussey scored 63 in the match. On reply, Bangalore struggled to pass 150 in the match. Ashwin's 3 wicket hall performance thrashed Bangalore's maiden IPL victory. Murali Vijay's amazing batting performance made him the Man of the Final.      

5. Kolkata Knight Riders(2012)

Kolkata Knight Riders(2012)

With the appointment of Gautham Gambhir as team captain, struggled Kolkata Knight Riders seen new heights. They entered the IPL finals in the year 2012. Chennai Super Kings reproduced last years same performance and challenged Kolkata in the finals. Chennai made a mammoth target of 191 for Kolkata. The top order batsmen's were excellent for Chennai.But Manvinder Bisla's 89 from 48 balls and Kallis's allround performance thrashed the hopes of Chennai's hat trick IPL title.Youngster Bisla was the man of the final. Sunil Narine was Man of the Series.

6. Mumbai Indians(2013)

Mumbai Indians(2013)

Mumbai Indians won their first IPL title in 2013. Rohit Sharma led team was impressive in the league stage. After a good eliminator knock, Mumbai faced Chennai, who were the match favorites. In a bowling pitch, Mumbai Indians managed to produce a decent target of 149 for Chennai Super Kings.Except Pollard and Ambati Rayudu, no other players were able to give a decent knock in the match. But Malinga and Mitchelle Johnson thrashed Chennai's top order, and struggled to chase the score. Captain Dhoni's 63 knock was unusable for Chennai. Mumbai secures a 23 runs victory and Pollard was awarded with the Man of the Match award.

7. Kolkata Knight Riders(2014)

Kolkata Knight Riders(2014)

Kolkata secured their 2nd title in the year 2014. They faced Kings XI Punjab in the final at Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. Batting first Kings XI Punjab's youngster's thrashed Kokata's strong bowling order. Manan Vohra scored 67 from 52 balls. Saha's unbeaten 115 from 55 balls, showcased a target of 200 for Kolkata Knight Riders. On reply, despite 2 wickets loss in the power play overs, Manish Pandey and Yusuf Pathan's fireworks favored the match to Kolkata. Manish Pandey scored 94 from 50 balls. In the end, Kolkata secured the win for 3 wickets with 3 balls remaining. Manish Pandey won the Man of the Match Award.  

8. Mumbai Indians(2015)

Mumbai Indians(2015)

Mumbai's second title triumph was in the year 2015. Chennai was again their opponents in the finals. Batting first in-form Mumbai batsmen's put a huge target of 203 for Chennai. Simmons's 68 from 45 and Captain Rohit Sharma's quick half ton was crucial in the mammoth total.On reply, Chennai was only able to build 161 runs, faced a lost of 42 runs. Lasith Malinga and McClenaghan took 2 and 3 wickets each. Captain Rohit Sharma was the Man of the Match for his batting contributions. 

9. Sun Risers Hyderabad(2016)

Sun Risers Hyderabad(2016)

Sun Risers made their maiden IPL title win in the year 2016. David Warner led team was impressive with individual performances. Sun Risers thrashed the hopes of Bangalore's first title, who were 3 time finalists. Batting first, Sun Risers Hyderabad, with the courtesy of David Warner, Yuvraj Singh and Cutting's batting knocks set a huge target of 209 for Bangalore. On reply,Kohli and Gayle made a decent opening partnership of 114 for the first wicket. After their dismissals, no other players were able to give the supporting knock, lost by 8 runs. Ben Cuttings two wickets and 15 balls 39 runs made him Man of the Match.

10. Mumbai Indians(2017)

Mumbai Indians(2017)

Mumbai Indian's became the first team to secure 3 IPL titles. In a Cliff hanging final against Rising Pune Supergiants, Mumbai were victorious for 1 runs. In a low scoring game, Mumbai were able to produce only 130 runs target for Pune. Only 5 players were able to reach the 2 digit score. Krunal Pandya was the top scorer with 47 runs. On reply, Pune's in form batting order collapsed and lost by 1 runs in a thriller. Smith's 51 and Rahane's 44 was not helped the team.


11. Chennai Super Kings (2018)

Chennai Super Kings (2018)

Run for the supreme title ended at Chennai Super Kings. The yellow army added 3rd to their cart. They once again dominated over Sun Risers in the final. Toss won, MS Dhoni elected to field first. Sun Risers, after a slow struggling start, raised up from the hands of captain Kane Williamson and Yusuf Pathan. With a decent cameo from Carlos Brathwaite in the end, Sun Risers put up a decent 179 target for Dhoni boys. But Shane Watson had some reserved batting knocks for the finals. The Australian all rounder's unbeaten 117 guided the Chennai to success.


You may also like

Facebook Conversations